Cav/Pag at Opernhaus Zürich
Death in Venice at La Scala

Nott & Gluzman at Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

KKL * Notes * 
Yesterday Jonathan Nott conducted Luzerner Sinfonieorchester in a program of Arvo Pärt, Sofia Gubaidulina, and Dmitri Shostakovich. Pärt's Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten was haunting, played with a certain tenderness, and even warmth. This was followed by the Gubaidulina's Concert for Violin und Orchestra "In tempus praesens." The soloist, Vadim Gluzman, played with fire with the orchestra buzzing and humming along. After the intermission came a tastefully played Symphony No. 15 by Shostakovich. There were two or three times when the horns had to play in unison and sounded cloudy, but for the most part the brass was clear and vibrant. The first cello and the concertmaster were particularly striking, as were the percussionists.

After the performance proper came a "Nachtkonzert," in which Gluzman played Eugène Ysaÿe's Sonata for Solo Violin, Op. 27, No. 2 in A minor and Lera Auerbach's T'filah (Prayer) for Solo Violin. Both were played with vim.

* Tattling * 
There were the requisite titters over the Rossini quotes in the Shostakovich.